Annual Golf Day 2013

Milltown Golf Club was the venue once again for this year's “PPU” Golf outing which took place on Friday the 17th May 2013. On a beautiful sunny day a large field of over 80 players, with past pupil representation across each decade from the 1940's through to 2000 and from 30 different golf clubs, took part on what turned out to be a cracking day and a closely contested event.

Although the day clashed with the Amlin Final we were able to accommodate those wishing to attend the game with a morning tee time, and provide match coverage in the bar for those playing in the afternoon and attending the dinner.

Each golfer received a generous "goodie" bag, thanks to the kind support given by Gary Lavin (1989) and David Mullan (1991), with golf balls supplied by Investec (Michael Cullen). John Russell (1982) provided some Peter Mark vouchers for the after dinner “lucky dip”.

The competition format involved Singles Stableford as well as a 3 ball Team event. We introduced a slight twist to the team event this year, with one score to count on the front nine, two scores to count on the back nine and all three scores to count on the par 3's.

Michael Craig playing off a handicap of 17 burned up the course with a great score of 40pts to claim the overall prize. He was closely followed home by Paul McSharry with a score of 39pts. The Past President's prize was won by Richard Byrne with a score of 35pts. Whilst the team prize was won by Michael Craig, Barry Muldowney and Paul O'Doherty with a fine score of 73pts. Congratulation to all our prize winners, for those that didn't including me there's always next year.


Michael Craig (17)



Paul McSharry (14)



David Ryan (21)


Class 1

Paul Kennedy (8) 34pts (last six)

R-Up Paul Howard (7) 34 pts

Class 2

Gareth Halpin (12) 35 pts

R-Up David Leech (12) 34 pts

Class 3

Brian Gilsenan (16) 35 pts (last six)

R-Up Richard Byrne (18) 35 pts

Class 4

Bobby O'Connor (22) 34 pts

Barry O'Sullivan (23) 32 pts



Michael Craig

Barry Muldowney

Paul O'Doherty

73 pts

Runner Up

Dave Bunworth

Niall Woods

Jim Cotter

70 pts

Past Presidents Prize

Richard Byrne (18)

35 pts


Jim Cotter (16) 37 pts

Dave Bunworth (15) 36 pts

Longest Drive

Arthur McEvoy (7)


Nearest the Pin

Special Award

Dara Lernihan

Morgan Crowe


An excellent day of golf was followed by a very enjoyable dinner, a Leinster win, and the prize giving. Particular thanks to Conal Cassidy (1979), Comans Rathgar, for providing and contributing towards a great selection of wines and prizes which were gratefully received by all prize winners. We'd also like to thank all our sponsors and supporters who made the day possible.

Finally, thanks to Milltown Golf Club and Julie for helping to put on a fantastic day. We look forward to returning again next year.

Gareth Henson (1993)

Log in or create an account